Institute of Classical Architecture & Art

Awards & Prizes


The Rieger Graham Prize

The Rieger Graham Prize The purpose of the Rieger Graham Prize is to advance the career and professional skills of a recent graduate or practitioner of architecture. Applicants must demonstrate interest and training in the classical design tradition and the continuity of knowledge it embodies. The prize will be awarded once every two years by a jury appointed by the ICAA.

The centerpiece of the prize is a three-month Classical Design Fellowship at the American Academy in Rome, the premier American overseas center for independent study and research in the fine arts and humanities. The total award will include Academy fees, travel allotment and award stipend. The proposed three-month stay must occur between September of the prize year and May of the following year.

The prize is open to United States citizens with a Bachelor of Architecture degree, Master of Architecture degree, or Master of Fine Arts degree prior to the start of the fellowship. Click here for the application.


Three-month Classical Design Fellowship at The American Academy in Rome


The deadline for Academic year 2018/2019 is December 11th 2017.


Recent Graduates of Architecture or its Allied Arts

Please inquire

Contact: Edith Platten at: or call (212) 730-9646, ext. 113